Media Release

2018 Endeavour Scholarships and fellowships.

Eleven Malaysian researchers, academics and students are headed to Australia next year as winners of the prestigious Australia Awards Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships, funded by the Australian Government.

Recipients will travel to Australia to undertake research and postgraduate study across a broad range of disciplines at leading universities and research institutes.

This will allow the students and researchers the opportunity to experience Australia's world class higher education system and foster closer links between Australian and Malaysian institutions.

The Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships are internationally competitive awards, which promote knowledge, education links and enduring ties between Australia and the world.

Endeavour plays an important role in supporting Australian and international students to engage in study and learning not confined by borders, boosting cooperation and overseas connections vital for our futures.

Speaking at a reception to congratulate the recipients, Australian High Commissioner to Malaysia, Mr Rod Smith PSM, said education has always been at the heart of the Australia - Malaysia bilateral relationship.

"I congratulate the winners of these prestigious awards, who I am confident will make valuable contributions to their fields, and also to the strong and growing links between Australia and Malaysia."

"They will have the opportunity to be unofficial Malaysian ambassadors while in Australia, receive a high quality education, and return with a rich experience and stories to last a life time."

The 2018 Malaysian recipients of Endeavour Fellowships are:

- Dr Dorothy De Witt who will travel to Macquarie University in Sydney to undertake a professional mentoring program in the field of learning design.
- Mr Mohamad Azuwa Mohamed who will travel to the University of New South Wales to undertake research towards his PhD, focussing on renewable energy.
- Dr Nethia Mohana Kumaran who will undertake a program to increase treatment options for patients suffering from nasopharyngeal carcinoma at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre.
- Dr Nurul Idris who will undertake research in environmental engineering at the University of Newcastle.
- Dr Muholan Kanapathy who will undertake research in the field of wound care and skin grafting at Monash University in Melbourne.
- Dr Sharon Kwan who will travel to the University of South Australia to explore the role of occupational therapy in creating a better work environment.

• Dr Hooi Long Lee who will travel to the University of Sydney to work on titanium oxynitride nanoparticles as potential material for wastewater treatment.

The 2018 recipients of Endeavour Scholarships are:

- Miss Azliana Abdul Aziz who will travel to the Australian National University to undertaken a Master of Strategic Studies.
- Ms Jeannie Xinwen Foo who will travel to Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne to undertake a Master of Design Strategy and Innovation.
- Mrs Farhana Mohd Rosli who will travel to the University of Melbourne to undertake a Master of Speech Pathology.
- Miss Toh Chew Day who will travel to the University of Melbourne to undertake a Master of Law.